SiriusXM Symphony Hall “Best Recordings of 2016”

“Havana Moon” selected by SiriusXM Symphony Hall “Best Recordings of 2016”
(Chosen by the Symphony Hall Announcing Staff)

Can be heard all day on December 31 and January 1

  • America Again – Lara Downes (Sonos Luminus)
  • Martha Argerich – Early Recordings (DGG)
  • Joshua Bell – For the Love of Brahms (Joshua Bell, Jeremy Denk, Steven Isserlis; Academy of St. Martin in the Fields) (Sony)
  • “Be Glad then America” – Bennett and Schuman: The “President’s Own” Unites States Marine Band: Lt. Col. Jason K. Fettig (Altissimo)
  • Juri Belohlavek – Czech Philharmonic: Dvorak Slavonic Dances (Decca – Universal Music)
  • Aaron Copland – Ballet Music: Leonard Slatkin – Detroit Symphony Orchestra (Naxos)
  • Daugherty – Tales of Hemingway; American Gothic; Once Upon A Castle” Giancarlo Guerrero – Nashville Symphony; Zuill Bailey, Cello (Tales of Hemingway) (Naxos)
  • Elgar – Orchestral Transcriptions: Kenneth Woods – English Symphony Orchestra; Rodolfus Choir (Avie)
  • Ginastera at 100 – Yolanda Kondonassis, Orli Shaham, Gil Shaham and the Oberlin Orchestra (Oberlin Music)
  • Cold Mountain – Jennifer Higdon (Pentatone)
  • Imani Winds – Startin’ Sumthin’ (eONE Music)
  • Lang Lang – New York Rhapsody: Lang Lang; Herbie Hancock; John Axelrod – London Symphony Orchestra (Sony)
  • Minnesota Orchestra – Osmo Vanska: Sibelius Symphonies 3, 6 and 7 (BIS)
  • Poulenc Works for Solo Piano and Duo: Lucille Chung (with Alessio Bax) (Signum)
  • Prokofiev – Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood: Alice Cooper; Alexander Shelly; National Youth Orchestra of Germany (Universal Music)
  • Rachmaninov – Symphony No. 1; Balakirev: Tamara: – Valery Gergiev – London Symphony Orchestra (LSO Live)
  • Tchaikovsky – Nutcracker: Complete Ballet; Symphony No. 4: Valery Gergiev – Mariinsky Orchestra (Mariinsky)
  • Michael Torke – Three Manhattan Bridges: David Alan Miller – Albany Symphony Orchestra; Joyce Yang; Julie Albers (Albany Records)
  • TransAtlantic Ensemble: – Havana Moon (Steinway and Sons)
  • “Winter” – V O C E S 8 (Universal Music)
  • Pinchas Zukerman – Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: English String Music (Decca – Universal Music)